Mocha Chiffon
Posted: 24 April 2009 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  162
Joined  2009-04-24

Hi, guys!  I just discovered this forum and I find it very educational.  I am a baking and pastry student and I have lately been practicing a lot with cakes.

A friend of mine is celebrating her 40th birthday and I want to make her cake.  She wants a Mocha Chiffon cake that we used to have growing up in Manila.  Problem is I can’t find a recipe that I can use for a 12x18 sheet cake (with 2 layers).  I have searched this forums and I found a few discussions regarding chiffons but not particularly about this subject.

Does anyone have any idea how I can alter the recipe in the Cake Bible to convert to mocha chiffon on a 12x18 sheet?  Any tips for success (such as not collapsing)?  Do I have to invert the pan suspended or can I leave right side up on the pan?

I am also planning on trying out the Mousseline buttercream and flavoring it to make it a Mocha buttercream.  That will be the filling and frosting for the cake.

FYI, I have tried a yellow chiffon cake recipe from the Professional Baking by Wayne Glissen and converted it by adding instant coffee to the flour.  I made it in 3 8in round pans.  It turned out not too bad but not as light and airy as I wanted it to be.  I was planning on trying the recipe in a 12x18 with no alterations in the proportions of the ingredients.  But reading the chiffon troubles in this forum, I’m worried that might not work out.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!  Love the forums!

Jess

Posted: 25 April 2009 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1411
Joined  2007-11-15

Welcome!  I would bake several 12x9 and assemble them together.  I am almost certain a chiffon will sink in the middle when wider than 12”

You could also bake half or full sheets only 1” deep.  With such shallow height the chiffon will rise and set in the oven quite rapidly and also won’t sink much when cooling.