1 of 2
Keeping cupcakes moist
Posted: 27 April 2009 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2009-04-27

Hello all…

I am an experienced cupcake baker, but a newbie to the blog.  I thank you all for the wonderful resources, information and guidance that I’ve already found just by reading here.
I have a vanilla cake recipe that I really like.  It calls for AP flour, which I prefer for my cupcakes because I like the way the courser texture holds up to classic buttercream (trying the Mouselline recipe out today), but I recently started making mini-cupcakes and b/c of the smaller size, they are drying out within a day.  Does anyone have a recipe or tip for an extra moist cake that will work well for mini cupcakes and stay moist for at least 3 days.  I have an vegetable oil-based red velvet cake recipe that is PERFECT for this, but I’m wondering how to convert this to a yellow vanilla cake that is equally as delicious. 

Thanks!!

Posted: 27 April 2009 08:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  324
Joined  2008-03-19

Take a look at cake recipes that call for sour cream in the batter. In my experience, sour cream does improve the moisture of cakes. Lisa Yochelson is the author of books that contain sour-cream based cakes (see “Baking by Flavor” and “Chocolate, Chocolate.” (The latter book, despite the name, has a few recipes for vanilla cakes.)

Take a look at Rose’s pound cake recipes in “The Cake Bible.” I used her basic pound cake as a basis for a rum cake I am developing. It was brushed with rum-flavored syrup and stayed moist for several days.  Another recipe from that book is the Grand Marnier cake, which calls for sour cream and is brushed with syrup. Even though both of these cakes are traditionally baked in tube pans or bundt pans, I don’t see why these wouldn’t work as mini-cupcakes.