Dry Yellow Cake
Posted: 04 May 2009 05:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2009-05-04

I made a yellow cake last weekend from the Cake Bible and had not so great results.  It was beautiful, rose nicely, and the taste is good, but it is so dry you can hardly eat it.  I used 8” pans and baking strips, did not over bake. 

Anyone else have this problem with the yellow cake recipe, and if so, any suggestions for a moister cake?

TIA,
Cindy

Posted: 04 May 2009 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  131
Joined  2009-03-07

Hi Cindy,

Welcome to the forum. I am sure the experts will try to help you, but I will offer my two cents. I am new to cake making but I have successfully made the All Occassion Downy Yellow Cake. Is this the Yellow Cake you are referring to? I think in order to get the best help you will have to give more information about which recipe you used and what process you went through. Did you weigh or measure? etc. Based on my experience and the help of the experts on this forum, I have learned that in order to make a successfull moist cake from the CB you must make sure the exact weight (or measurments) for the ingredients are used. I prefer to weigh my ingredients to get everything as exact as possible. You must also make sure your oven temperature is correct by using an overn thermometer, and you must follow the mixing instructions exactly. I did learn from experience that the mixing times in the CB are for a stand mixer only. When I used my hand mixer I had to mix about twice as long on high speed than the times indicated in the directions. Also, I take my cakes out of the oven when there are a few crumbs sticking to the tester. The cake continues to cook for about 5-10 minutes after its out of the oven, and this way I don’t risk taking the cake out too late and it is dry. Also, since I live in a dry climate, my cakes tend to come out drier than normal. Sometimes I add 2 tbs of oil or butter to add extra moisture.  I