Wafers for frozen lime meringue pie
Posted: 06 July 2017 10:38 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2017-07-06

I’m new to baking so my question may look silly… what are wafers? Brands I see in stores are with fillings. Something tells me they will not be any good for pie crust… could someone show me a suitable brand?

Posted: 07 July 2017 01:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  728
Joined  2007-11-18
Yoki - 06 July 2017 10:38 PM

I’m new to baking so my question may look silly… what are wafers? Brands I see in stores are with fillings. Something tells me they will not be any good for pie crust… could someone show me a suitable brand?

YOKI:
    Good morning. Welcome to our baking forum. Yoki, judging from your limited information in your request for advice or suggestions, I will give you my answer based on my opinion of your written request

If you want to use the mentioned WAFERS to crush & mix with melted butter, sugar & ete to employ for a PIE Crust You can use the mention wafers by removing the fillings. Many bakers do. You can not remove the fillings & crush the entire wafer as well. You can use what I use it is called VANILLA wafers (NABISCO is a brand) & crush those very easily. They are very popular for a cheesecake base together with a graham cracker crust as well. Yoki, just use your culinary imagination.

I hope my post will help you make the right decision for yourself.

Have a nice day yoki.

~FRESHKID.

Posted: 07 July 2017 02:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2017-07-06

Freshkid, thank you very much for your reply!

Posted: 07 July 2017 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2017-06-28

To get the best crumbs for your pie crust, put the wafers into a plastic bag, seal it well, but remove excess air from the bag.  Using a rolling pin, crush the wafers in a rolling motion, into the desired consistency.

Posted: 07 July 2017 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10