Lime cake with Coconut…
Posted: 24 August 2017 09:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2017-08-24

Hello to everyone:

I am somewhat new to baking, and have been on a quest to find a cake recipe along these parameters:

Does anyone have, or know of a bundt/pound cake recipe that makes use of fresh limes (preferably not key limes), with the added flavor complement of coconut.  Not a big fan on the texture of shredded/flaked coconut in baked goods, but using coconut cream, or milk, is absolutely fine.

Any help or leads would be great…

Thanks in advance grin

Posted: 24 August 2017 08:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2017-01-05
deannaldbtr - 24 August 2017 09:16 AM

Hello to everyone:

I am somewhat new to baking, and have been on a quest to find a cake recipe along these parameters:

Does anyone have, or know of a bundt/pound cake recipe that makes use of fresh limes (preferably not key limes), with the added flavor complement of coconut.  Not a big fan on the texture of shredded/flaked coconut in baked goods, but using coconut cream, or milk, is absolutely fine.

Any help or leads would be great…

Thanks in advance grin

You won’t get coconut flavor from coconut milk or cream.  Just open up a can and taste it—there’s no flavor.  I just recently baked a dozen or so coconut cakes, only to find none had any coconut flavor.  I tried recipes with coconut milk, coconut cream, and a combination of coconut milk/cream and shredded coconut. I tried at least 6 different brands of coconut milk/cream.  They taste awful, and all lack coconut flavor.  I ended up researching and found you have to use a flavoring or extract to get decent coconut flavor in the cake itself.