Orange and Chocolate Cake
Posted: 10 July 2009 11:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2009-06-30

I’m new to baking, and after a number of failed attempts with cakes, am hoping to learn using The Cake Bible. There is one recipe that I don’t find in the Cake Bible that I’d love to try using Rose’s method (I don’t like the creaming of butter/sugar). Do you think that this recipe could be converted over to Rose’s method of first putting in the dry ingredients and then adding the fat/liquid?

http://leitesculinaria.com/3076/recipes-barefoot-contessa-orange-chocolate-chunk-cake.html

Posted: 11 July 2009 12:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  590
Joined  2007-11-18

TIM:
  Good morning & welcome to our baking forum. Tim, first of all this recipe is referred to as a “POUND CAKE”. It isn’t a pound cake. A pound cakes ingredients with- in reason, say maybe plus/minus 10% variance of it’s main ingredients are almost equal, ie, butter, sugar, flour & eggs.  These ingredients vary by to much in weight. It is simply a BUTTER CAKE. Now then Tim this recipe as shown in the photo is out of balance. The reason that it will bake an out of balance concoction is that it must be baked in a bundt type cake pan. They are very very forgiving of out of balance recipes. I do not believe it will bake in a round typical cake pan…you will get a sunken or fallen center after coming out of the oven.