Caramel Apples/Caramel Dip
Posted: 28 September 2009 03:14 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2008-08-19

Does anyone have a good recipe for homemade Caramel Apples, or for a Caramel dip for apples?  I’m looking for something from scratch, that doesn’t use pre-wrapped caramels.  I’m not a caramel snob or anything, I just don’t have any in the house.  I do however, always have sugar, butter, cream, etc. Thanks in advance!

Posted: 28 September 2009 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2008-05-03

Gia, do you have Rose’s Christmas Cookies?  There is a superb recipe in there for Myrtles (really turtles!) and the caramel is just divine.  You might have to make it a bit softer for apples, though. 

Annie

Posted: 28 September 2009 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  77
Joined  2008-08-19

Hi Annie,
No I don’t have the cookies book.  I am a terrible cookie baker so maybe I should get it!  I might try the caramel from the mud turtles recipe in RHC - any thoughts on that?
Thanks
Gia

Posted: 28 September 2009 05:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2008-05-03

Hi Gia,  I looked up pp380 of RHC.  They have the same list of ingredients but very different proportions.  Of course, the caramel in the myrtles is supposed to set, whereas the other one is somewhat runny and gooey. As you already have RHC, I would say to go for it but you’ll have to make 3 or 4 times the recipe to be able to dip apples. 

Now I want to make the cupcakes but also want to make the baby grands - decisons, decisions!

Annie
PS If I were you I’d put the Cookie book on my Christmas list.  The Chocolate Caramel Chews are to die for - as you’ve probably surmised I’m a caramelaholic!

Posted: 28 September 2009 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  865
Joined  2008-03-09