1 of 3
1
Stand Mixer Question - What do you use?
Posted: 17 November 2007 11:17 AM   [ Ignore ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2577
Joined  2007-11-15

What kind of stand mixer do you use, and what size is it?

 Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  769
Joined  2007-11-15

I have a Kenwood Chef, bought for me by my husband in 1973,  and still working perfectly.  I broke the original pyrex-type bowl and replaced it with a new plastic one and I replaced the whisk beater as one of the wires snapped.  When it was bought it cost ?24.99 (about 50 dollars) but they now cost ten times that!  I also have a Kenwood hand mixer which I use for small jobs but I wouldn’t like to be without my stand mixer for big mixes especially my Christmas cake which I have made this week. Do you have fruitcake as a Christmas cake in the USA?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2577
Joined  2007-11-15
jeannette - 17 November 2007 03:30 PM

Do you have fruitcake as a Christmas cake in the USA?

Yes, some people in the US do make fruitcake at Christmas, but I think more people joke about receiving and re-gifting the same fruitcake year after year because nobody wants to eat it.

 Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1076
Joined  2007-11-15

I suppose I’m primitive, but surprise, I don’t own a stand mixer.  I’ve had success using a hand mixer for regular-size batches of cakes and buttercreams, but I would be up a creek if I ever had to make a wedding cake.  I knead all of my bread by hand.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2577
Joined  2007-11-15
Matthew - 17 November 2007 03:41 PM

I suppose I’m primitive, but surprise, I don’t own a stand mixer.  I’ve had success using a hand mixer for regular-size batches of cakes and buttercreams, but I would be up a creek if I ever had to make a wedding cake.  I knead all of my bread by hand.

Wow, I am surprised Matthew!  After seeing some of your kitchen creations, I’m completely impressed.

 Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2007-11-15

I use Dad’s Kitchen Aid, I think it’s 6 quarts? Not sure, haven’t measured it.

It’s great.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2577
Joined  2007-11-15

I currently use the 5qt KitchenAid, but I’m seriously considering getting the 6qt for large wedding cake sized batches of buttercream and cake batter.  I wish KA would make a 10qt - wouldn’t that be the best!  I’ve found a few 10qt hobarts for sale, but they look so industrial (and not in the good way), and even heavily used ones are so expensive, comparitively speaking.

 Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2007-11-15

I use a 5-quart KitchenAid, and I have a small Sunbeam hand mixer that I use for “quick jobs.”  I did without a stand mixer for many, many years, though.

 Signature 

Save the earth.  It’s the only planet with chocolate.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 04:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-11-16

I have the 6 qt. Kitchenaid.  I don’t think it’s as good a machine since Hobart stopped making them for Kitchenaid.  When this one bites the dust, I think I’d get a Viking.  I really need a heavy duty one because I do all my baking from scratch.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 08:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2007-11-17
Patrincia - 17 November 2007 03:17 PM

What kind of stand mixer do you use, and what size is it?

I have an Kitchen Aid 5 Qt Artisan.  It whips and creams like a dream.

I briefly flirted with the idea of buying the new Cuisinart stand mixer, but after seeing all the parts of it that are made of plastic (under the top cover), I ran back to my tried and tested KA.

 Signature 

Come visit my blog
http://occasionalbaker.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 10:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2007-11-17

The mixer I use (and recommend) is a Bosch Universal Mixer, as I am BIG into making quanity whole-grain bread recipes.

Warmly, Sharon Anne

 Signature 

Although I don’t have a cooking blog, I do have a personal non-commercial cooking website at http://www.sharonanne.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 November 2007 10:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-11-17

I recently got the Cuisinart 7 qt mixer.  Absolutely love it!!! Never get the flour “poof” all over me and counter any more!! Whoo hoo

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2007 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2007-11-17

I have 3 mixers.  One old KitchenAid/Hobart Classic.  One KitchenAid hand mixer.  One KitchenAid Artisan (5 qt) mixer.  I would love the new Cuisinart Mixer and get rid of the Artisan.  I have been through 3 Artisan’s; they can’t handle too much load and don’t like to be pushed.  But KitchenAid is good about replacing their mixers (within 1 year) when they blow up.  Lorraine

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2007 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  143
Joined  2007-11-17

Cook’s Illustrated rated different stand mixers, and their results can be found here.  It’s about 2 years old, however, so the newer ones off the market won’t be in it.  smile

 Signature 

Come visit my blog
http://occasionalbaker.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2007 03:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  124
Joined  2007-11-18

I have an old 5-qt. KitchenAid ProLine I inherited from my mother when she bought her 6-qt. about four years ago.  Prior to that, I had an old KA 4.5-qt.

 Signature 

“There is no such thing as reconstituted lemon juice, only reconstituted taste buds.” - Bert Greene

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 November 2007 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2577
Joined  2007-11-15
Julius - 18 November 2007 03:53 PM

Cook’s Illustrated rated different stand mixers, and their results can be found here.  It’s about 2 years old, however, so the newer ones off the market won’t be in it.  smile

Excellent info - thanks for posting these reviews!

 Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1
Back to top
 
‹‹ Recipe sharing: Bostini Cream Pie      . ››