Mousseline buttercream too soft for rose
Posted: 25 October 2009 10:42 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2009-10-03

I tried to make rose out of mousseline buttercream but it was too soft. What can I do to make it harder to pipe out roses?

Posted: 25 October 2009 11:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2009-07-16

Hi! TCB on page 407 states the icing consistency has to be stiff for roses. Also page 396-397 gives a recipe for practice buttercream and tells you have to make thin and stiff consistency icing.

I’m still learning myself but maybe the pro’s on this site will be able to chime in and help you out…

Posted: 25 October 2009 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  289
Joined  2008-08-13

Bagmanic, since you are in Singapore, it probably was too warm which is why it’s too soft. Just chill it in the fridge for a short while until it’s firmer, then it will be OK to pipe roses.

Posted: 25 October 2009 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRank
Joined  2009-10-03

angelcakes - Thanks! I read page 407, it states stiff, not sure now can I make the buttercream stiff, it looks soft to me after it soften from the fridge. smile

shimi - Thanks too! mmm… maybe… I have to fill up the piping bag and if is too soft, then I will have to fridge it first before I can make any petals. Really too soft. Not like the “stiff” texture that Rose made in her video.

Posted: 25 October 2009 04:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1420
Joined  2007-11-15

The kitchen where this video was taped was unusually cold, about 72oFm

If your mousseline doesn’t get this stiff as shown on the video, at 72oF then u probably didn’t heat the sugar to 248 to 250oF

Thermometers are so inexpensive nowadays, I wouldn’t make mousseline without one.

Signature 

http://myyellowkitchen.com/index-equipment-html/

Posted: 25 October 2009 09:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
RankRank
Joined  2009-10-03