Deep Chocolate Passion Christening cake results!
Posted: 26 October 2009 07:27 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  44
Joined  2009-05-14

This is the Christening cake I made for a colleagues grand daughter.  I am not a cake decorator so I do not expect any praise for the amateur decorating attempt.  I used the deep chocolate passion cake recipe with raspberry mouselline buttercream and frosted with vanilla mouselline buttercream. I have never used the mouselline recipe before. I had no problems and it was very easy to work with.
I actually made two 12 inch cakes as they were having about 100 people to the reception.
As most of you know, I had problems in finding a 12 inch X 2 inch cake pan. I was tempted to try it out in the 11 X 3 1/2 inch pan I had but chickened out. I found a 12 X 2 1/2 pan…but could only find one.  I also did not have bleached all purpose flour so I Kate floured it. (I had American cake flour that my long suffering sister sent to me in August.)
Again, I thank the forum friends for answering questions and being so helpful. You gave me courage!
The only problem I had and I am sure it is my inexperience in making big cakes…I had cake crumbs that would not go away even with a crumb coat. I don’t have a big enough freezer to fit the layers in. I am thinking that if I could have cooled the first crumb coat that the crumbs would have been less mobile. But it was only a small problem that frustrated me at 5 am in the morning. I just kept thinking as I was making these cakes that I admire anyone who does a wedding cake. You need nerves of steal! I was exhausted in the end!

My cake layers came out absolutely beautiful. I was overjoyed with the results. My colleague said that she has never seen people so crazy over a cake. Everyone wanted to know where she bought it from. So, my compliments to Rose, for such a good recipe that made a fantastic cake and Christening celebration.