Santa Fe Cupcakes for a Colorado Wedding
Posted: 02 November 2009 10:30 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  313
Joined  2009-07-24

This past September, my sister and I made 240 cupcakes plus a 6” 3-layer cake for our youngest sister’s wedding. It was quite a learning experience for us, and I want to share it with other readers here in the hopes that this may help someone complete a large baking project.

I live at sea level in Mexico. We baked the cupcakes in Santa Fe, New Mexico, at 7,000’ elevation. Even though I baked our two selected recipes—Golden Grand Marnier and Heavenly Coconut Seduction—at my home with great success as cupcakes, we had to bake them again and tinker with the recipes for successful high altitude baking.

I used to be a professional cook and it was all in a day’s work to bake cakes for 100 servings. In fact, that was when I first bought The Cake Bible in 1989 or ‘90 to find new cake recipes for our restaurant menu. Because of this experience, I had enough self-confidence to know we could bake 240 cupcakes, but it would take lots of planning and organization to do it in a home kitchen.