gingerbread recipe in “Rose’s Christmas Cookies”
Posted: 17 November 2007 03:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  59
Joined  2007-11-17

Hi

I have difficulty with the gingerbread recipe on page 191 of the “Roses Christmas Cookie” book. This recipe is the almost the same as the one for gingerbread boys except it uses less butter and no eggs. I find the dough much too dry. In fact I get crumbs rather than any sort of dough. I weigh my ingredients. I use organic unbleached white flour .  I live in Canada. Is the flour significantly different here? I am an accomplished baker and I’ve had no trouble with other recipes in this book.
The ratio of butter to flour in the recipe is 4 ounces butter to 15 ounces flour.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Posted: 17 November 2007 05:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  108
Joined  2007-11-15

I remember discussions of this sort of thing on other forums, and IIRC, yes, there are differences between Canadian and US flours.

Here’s a link to a discussion I remembered on the Cooking light forums. It’s a few years old, but I’m guessing it’s still relevant.

Posted: 18 November 2007 12:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1076
Joined  2007-11-15

I read a bit of this recipe, and it seems to be a dough that dries out easily and is difficult to roll—I assume this is meant for a display and not to eat really (although it might be edible), so it is probably pretty durable.  But it sounds like from your post that you can’t even get it to form a dough.  The only other thing I can think of is the dark brown sugar, which contains more moisture that most other types of sugar.  Are you using dark brown and is it fresh?  As brown sugar ages, it loses moisture content.  You might consider replacing it with white sugar and extra molasses just to make sure you have the moisture content spot on.

Posted: 18 November 2007 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2570