Cake pan size
Posted: 27 November 2009 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2009-06-30

I own a beautifully-proportioned cake pan, 7” round x 4” high. I never see recipes for cakes that would fit this tin. I know that in order to alter a cake to fit that tin size, I need to adjust temperature and time. Are there any good places to learn how precisely to adjust for a tin of this size? Thanks…..

Posted: 28 November 2009 02:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  404
Joined  2009-10-14

Hi Tim - I am also using odd cake pan sizes. I am sure the experienced bakers can help you. There are tables and other stats in the cake bible which provide you with factors with which you can multiply the ingredients.

There a couple of posts on this but you really need the assistance of some of the maths/baking experts here such as Julie
I am still battling to grasp this concept so it can apply to all cakes. I am still studying the Cake Bible - Rose has included several factors for various cake sizes in a table but I am not sure if they apply to all recipes. I don’t feel confident enough to advise you. Do you have the Cake Bible?

I am not using US standard 9 inch pans which are thus far unavailable locally. I am trying to buy some but thus far no luck in locating. It makes baking so much more difficult.

I do wish the pro bakers would compose a sticky which we could all have as a guide for non mathematicians! The site need this particularly as Rose has a growing client base outside of the US.

Posted: 29 November 2009 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-10-14

Tim - I omitted those page numbers for the Cake Bible - Note these calculations are all for ROSE Recipes. 

There is a master chart for butter cakes on Page 490 - gives you the Rose factor (for various pan sizes) to multiply her base recipe.

On Pg 502 the same for genoise.