3 of 3
Making icing with butter that works and does not separate - Help
Posted: 03 March 2010 04:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  500
Joined  2007-11-24

Dear Hage9a, I love your term “blob” for the mixture that is added to the butter to make a frosting! (But then I studied physics, where “quark,” “strangeness,” and “charm” are all official terms.)

I’ve been trying to understand the different types of frostings and this is what I’ve come up with so far. Maybe some of you who have gone to chef school can correct my terminology:

Basic American-style “buttercream”—no “blob.” Powdered sugar is mixed directly with shortening (ugh), butter, or a butter/cream cheese mixture. A small amount of liquid is added as needed to thin it out. The large amount of sugar acts as the thickener for the icing. Tends to be very sweet and a bit gritty, because the sugar is not dissolved.

The cream cheese frosting from “The Sweeter Side of Amy’s Bread” is an interesting variation because the sugar has been dissolved in a little water and made into poured fondant before adding it to the cream cheese/butter mixture. This means it is not so gritty.

Rose’s white chocolate cream cheese frosting is another great variation of this theme, because the sugar is all part of the white chocolate and therefore not gritty. The cocoa butter in the white chocolate also provides thickening, since it is solid at room temperature.

All the other buttercreams use some sort of “blob”—a mixture which is beaten into the softened butter (or vice versa). The “blob” contains sugar, liquid (to dissolve the sugar), and some sort of thickener (eggs, starch, or both). It is generally heated to dissolve the sugar and activate the thickener.

Starch-paste or “roux” buttercreams: the “blob” is milk or water, sugar, plus a starch such as flour, cornstarch, etc.

Pastry cream buttercreams: the “blob” is milk (or other liquid), sugar, egg yolks, and starch.