Parbaking bread
Posted: 28 February 2010 06:15 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2010-02-28

I’m new to the forum and am delighted to find this online community of bakers! I’ve been a long time bread baker and have had great success freezing already baked breads and reheating.  However, I’ve recently gotten very interested in trying to parbake the bread much like the large bakeries do before sending to restaurants for final baking. Has anyone here tried parbaking before? Any tips on how long to bake initially, cooling and freezing tips and final baking times? I thought I’d ask first before I dive into a full blown experimental mode.  My freezer’s pretty full as it is, so any help would be appreciated!

Posted: 01 March 2010 12:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  682
Joined  2008-01-24

Welcome Buggrrl,
I confess I haven’t tried this because I always pursue the shortest route from flour to stomach. I think some of the others will have suggestions. Please keep us apprised of you progress.

Signature 

“This pizza is a symphony of flavors”

Posted: 01 March 2010 03:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  865
Joined  2008-03-09

Welcome to the forum! Here’s a previous thread with some useful info:
http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/index_ee.php/forums/viewthread/572/#4759

Posted: 01 March 2010 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-02-28