Strawberry Filling?
Posted: 09 March 2010 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2007-12-07

Hello all,
  My husband’s birthday cake request this year was “white cake, strawberry filling, and buttercream frosting”.  I am confident and capable with two of those things, however I am sort of stumped about the strawberry filling.  I envisioned something with the flavor intensity of lemon curd, but in a strawberry version, but don’t know how to get there.  I am still a very tentative baker, as my failures don’t always turn out as palatable lessons and I HATE to waste food.  Sometimes I just make “lessons that end up in the garbage” so I am not eager to just start trying stuff.
  His birthday is March 28, so there is time to learn a new trick or two, but I need guidance.  My plan so far is White Velvet Butter Cake and Mousseline buttercream.  I have made the neoclassic several times, but after reading the raves for the flavor of the mousseline, and since his decoration request requires the whitest possible surface, I’m going with the that. 
  He wants it to be just a thickened fruit filling, not buttercream or whipped cream flavored with, or containing chunks of berries.  It sounds simple enough, but my brain locked up on me when I started to think about how to do it, and that horrid jelly-like stuff they use to fill grocery store cakes leapt into my mind shock
  Please let me know what you think might work.  Or better yet, what has worked for you in the past.  I have TCB, but Heavenly Cakes isn’t going to be gracing my shelf for another month or two. 

Thank you so much,
                  Melanie

Posted: 09 March 2010 08:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  324
Joined  2008-03-19