quick question on unmolding cheesecake
Posted: 03 April 2010 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  313
Joined  2009-07-24

I just made a cheesecake “au naturel”, as Rose calls it—without a crust.  Do I want to unmold it when it is still warm, room temp. or cold?

Thank you, my fellow bakers.

Signature 

Please visit me at http://cookinginmexico.com/ for recipes and photos

Posted: 03 April 2010 07:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2009-11-20

Hi Kathleen,
I always cool Rose’s cheesecake in the pan then refrigerate it overnight.
Then I remove it from the pan the next day. Enjoy your cheesecake!
Happy Holiday Kathleen

Posted: 03 April 2010 07:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-07-24

Thanks, Darlene. Happy Holiday to you, too!

This is my first time to bake a crustless cheesecake and my first time to bake a cheesecake in a pan that is not a springform. I didn’t know if it would stick to the pan bottom when it was cold. I’ll follow your advice and let you know how it turns out.

Kathleen

Signature 

Posted: 04 April 2010 09:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2009-11-20

Kathleen,
Today when you remove your cheesecake from the cake pan, Rose says to run a spatula around the edge, then if need be briefly warm the pan over a burner until loosened. Not too long though or you will melt your cheesecake!
I too bake mine in a cake pan. This works every time.

Posted: 05 April 2010 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-07-24

Darlene,