1 of 2
I need some HUGS! Order I worked on all week got terrible feedback =(
Posted: 18 April 2010 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  192
Joined  2010-04-11

Hello friends, it is a sad day in the kitchen today. I have been on here all week asking questions, learning to make the chocolate torte from TCB intending it to be used for the largest order I’ve had to date, which is very small compared to the cakes ya’ll do (weddings etc) but never the less, I wanted to make this person very happy!

I made the chocolate butter cake from TCB using the rose factor to accommodate two 10” and two 6” pans…made test cakes, etc until I got it to rise correctly. I am a high altitude baker and always have issues with recipes, dryness, and collapsing. I thought I had fixed those major issues, and was pretty happy once it was all solved. The cake was made into a two tier Mario themed fondant design, baked on Wed/Thurs and served on Sat. They were WELL wrapped, syruped etc.

The cake once finished looked wonderful, and they were very happy. I made sure to tell them what a special recipe I used, and how excited I was for them to try it! I had tasted the test cake and the leveling scraps from her cakes, and thought it was the best chocolate cake I ever tasted. I call today to see how the party went yesterday after I left (assembled on site due to the delicate crumb of this cake) and am horrified to hear the review.

They said the cake crumbled into oblivion when they cut it, and tasted terrible, and was dry. They said I should have saved my trouble and used a Duncan Hines boxed mix, and it would have been an improvement. They said the kids didn’t even want to eat it, it was so crumbly, and she had made cupcakes too to compliment the design and supplement for extra unexpected guests, so they gravitates towards those. Imagine my shock.