1 of 3
When you are not baking?
Posted: 20 April 2010 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1148
Joined  2009-11-24

Is baking your profession?  If so, what do you do most and what kind of place do you work?
If not, what do you do when you are not baking?  Do you have any other passions/hobbies? 

I love to garden.  Although this forum has seriously fueled my passion for baking, I also love to garden.  Now that it is warm, I am anxious to be in the yard weeding, pruning, etc.  I have crape myrtles, hydrangeas, viburnums, peonies, japanese maple, dogwood, cherry laurel, camelias, and various perennials all in my end-unit townhouse.  I am very active in my church and often travel for same.  That led me to an interest in photography.  I am not very good at it but joined a group at church to improve my skills.  Now I have to get off, I have some weeds to eliminate and deer to fend off.

Signature 

So many recipes - so little time.

Posted: 20 April 2010 12:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  192
Joined  2010-04-11

Ooh what a fun thread! You sound like you have a wonderful set of passions! I love how many flowers you have in your garden, it must look spectacular! I got to try my hand at gardening last year for the first time, and found it to be deeply fulfilling. I grew as many rose plants as I could, coupled with all food bearing plants to attempt to become more self sufficient. I had strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, grapes, herbs of all kinds, beans, corn, carrots tomatoes and lettuce. We learned it is a family passion, as my Husband is just as into it as I am. You really develop a relationship with plants that feed you! It was so special. This year we bought about 20 times as many seeds as last year, ready to “get serious” with our efforts, but before we could plant (thank God!) we received orders to move, ands the climate where we are going is inhospitable to any plant life so I hear, ABu Dhabi UAE.