The science of mail order starters
Posted: 20 February 2008 07:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-02-20

The logic that regional starters quickly lose their distinctiveness to dilution is fairly compelling to me.  But there are people selling specialized starters—San Francisco, etc.—online who claim that the cultures are sustainable. 

Are there food scientists or biologists who have done research on this?  I’m open to convincing, but only if someone with a microscope has counted which sort of bugs are left after a couple feedings.

Posted: 21 February 2008 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1421
Joined  2007-11-15

I have a bachelors degree in biology, but by no means I specialized in microbiology or food science, which would answer your question more scientific and accurate.

I would say, you can buy starters from specific varieties (San Francisco, France, etc), reactivate it at home by feeding, you will get the taste of that variety perhaps for a month, after that your starter should have mixed with your local bacteria thus no longer be a true strain.  You can always keep buying thought.

Also, it is very hard to duplicate other variables in sourdough bread baking, like the water used in San Francisco for example and the weather.  It is similar to making espresso!

I recommend everyone to make their own starter according to The Bread Bible, it is yours and always yours.  It isn’t that hard to birth, and almost all issues has been discussed on the blog.  Why buy a variety name starter if it eventually mixes into your own?  Maybe for fun, flavor, experimentation, or habit.

Signature 

http://myyellowkitchen.com/index-equipment-html/

Posted: 21 February 2008 06:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-11-15

oh, one more thing.  You can always add more of the variety bought starter onto your feedings, that way it remains more true to variety.  So keep buying!

Signature