Freestanding Gas Oven 30” & Microwave/convection hood brands?
Posted: 07 June 2010 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-06-07

Hi all,

I am new, but I have been using Rose’s Cake Bible for many years.  It took my baking to a higher level!  What a source of inspiration & must-have cake book!

My gas oven died.

No regrets, since an exterior oven part rusted and paint is wearing off and showing the steel underneath on the range backsplash.  Plus it is horrible to clean.  It is a Whirlpool super capacity 465.  Lasted 10 yrs.

I am now finally searching for a new freestanding 30” gas range and oven.  There have been so many options lately, that I would like to know what the opinions are for these brands (or any that might be better):

Frigidaire Gallery freestanding gas range with True convection oven, warming drawer, 5 sealed burners, FGGF3076K
Wolf (there was a mention of Wolf commercial in the Cake Bible, but for home?)
KitchenAid
BlueStar

Please also let me know what you think about durability (must last 20+ yrs) and cleaning (easy to clean with NO spots left).

Also, can the preheat features be trusted? There are some models that boast quick preheat.

I also am considering replacing the over the range microwave with hood combo.  Can you recommend a microwave with convection oven and hood that is durable and easy to clean?

I bake as often as daily.  I enjoy baking cakes (sponge, fruit), muffins, cupcakes, poultry, fish, cookies, brownies.  I often like to bake 2 batches of anything (as 1 batch is never enough).

I read about the quarry tiles, but preheating for 60 min would only be possible if I was baking all day.  So that does not seem realistic, since I would like the baking to be done in about 1 hr or 1.5 hrs at the most.  I have to do all the clean-up, so I need to save as much time as possible.

Thank you all in advance!

Posted: 07 June 2010 06:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3168