Which fondant is better?
Posted: 26 February 2008 04:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-02-25

I am kind of new to fondant and am wondering what is the best brand to use…Bakels Pettinice, Satin Ice, or FondX?

Posted: 26 February 2008 05:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  604
Joined  2007-11-27

You really need to try them all because everyone will have their particular favorite.  I use whatever I can get the easiest - mostly Albert Uster Massa Grischuna (it’s more expensive than the others, unfortunately but handles beautifully); Pettinice when my local distributor has it (I like this one too and use either one).  I haven’t had a good experience with Satin Ice - to me, it is very soft and I find I have to roll it on a chilled stainless steel table (a hint I got from Ron Ben-Israel when he hosted an online chat a few years ago - you put some ice on the table for a few minutes, wipe the condensation away and work quickly.  Otherwise I have to use a ton of cornstarch which dries out the fondant and makes it look horrible.

I do use the Satin Ice colored fondant when I have to, especially the red and black.  The FondX colors I found to be very dry.

I have not used FondX.  I have used the fondant from various to-the-trade distributors and still go back to Pettinice and Albert Uster.

You really have to find what works for you in your kitchen.  Everyone has their favorites!

Signature 

I Dream of Jeanne Cakes selected by Brides Magazine as one of their 100 Favorite Bakers (2013)

Posted: 27 February 2008 12:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2583
Joined  2007-11-15

Jeanne - your cakes are so elegant!  My favorite is #2.

Signature 

Come visit me at

Blog:  http://butteryum.org
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ButterYum
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/butteryum/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ButterYum.ATastyLittleFoodBlog

Posted: 27 February 2008 02:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRank