Help!! my pound cakes keep falling
Posted: 26 February 2008 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-02-26

Okay, here goes…SITUATION:  for about the last 2 weeks, a lemon pound cake recipe that I have been baking to perfection for several years now, is suddenly starting to rise during baking and then will fall before it finishes.  I thought this problem only occurred when I tried to bake the pound cake but I have just recently learned that it also happens when I use my soccer ball pan with a red velvet cake recipe.

Whenever I bake sheet cakes or layer cakes, they rise just fine.  I did notice that when I attempted to bake the lemon pound cake recipe in heart-shaped layer pans(3” high), it did not rise properly.

ACTIONS TAKEN:  Baked the cake over the last couple of weeks about 4 or 5 different times and the same thing happens.  Ingredients are exactly the same brands, etc… and using the same mixer and technique that I’ve always used.  I’ve cleaned my oven, and purchased a thermometer to monitor the temp; I found that although the oven was set to 325, it was actually at 350, so I raised the temp to 350 so that the oven temp will be 325.  I thought this would fix the problem, but it has not, I keep getting the results that are very displeasing.

Please if anyone can help with this, i need as much input as possible, I’ve done what I know how to do.

By the way, I have a kenmore gas oven.

Posted: 26 February 2008 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2007-11-15

If the oven is set at 325 and measures 350, you will need to set it down, to near 300, to lower the measured temperature to 325.

Make yourself a little chart:

Setting Measured
200     150
225     180
250     225
275     260
300     275
325     305
350     315
375     330
400     375

(fill in your own numbers, of course, and figure out that the middle of 325 and 350 is (say) 300)

Posted: 26 February 2008 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-02-26