Hello Kitty Birthday Cake
Posted: 14 June 2010 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2010-02-22

My cousin wanted to have a Hello Kitty themed party for her daughter’s first birthday this past weekend. This was my first try at cake carving. It was an All Occasion Yellow Downy Cake w/ Mousseline Frosting and Strawberry Mousseline Filling. I am a beginner so I filled in the bow and nose with stars. The whiskers are black Twistlers. It sat outside in the backyard for a few hours in 80+ degrees. Everyone really enjoyed the cake and said it tasted excellent. Thank you Ms. Beranbaum for your recipes and helping me make the cake look like it was ordered from the bakery.

Image Attachments
IMAG0063-800x502.jpg

Posted: 14 June 2010 12:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3171
Joined  2010-04-25

That is the cutest thing I have seen in years!!!

Congratulations!!!

You should send a pic to cake wrecks for their Sunday Sweets, it is so amazingly cute!!!  I’d be glad to nominate you, but not without permission!

Posted: 14 June 2010 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-02-22

Anne, I am beyond happiness reading your comment. Thank you so much! I’ve only been baking for a year so that gave me so much more motivation. You are welcome to nominate me but I have seen the cakes on Cake Wrecks and my cake is nothing compared to the ones on there. They are amazing!

I have to give credit where credit is due. I decided on a Hello Kitty face cake after searching the web for ideas. Then panic kicked in. What was I thinking, I never carved a cake before. Further browsing brought me to the BAKER’S CAKES blog with instructions on how to make this cake. If not for that, I would have given up on making this cake.

Posted: 14 June 2010 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3171
Joined  2010-04-25

I’ve nominated it!  Here’s what I sent!

===========================