Pizza dough in the Bread Bible
Posted: 27 February 2008 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-02-21

This is my first attempt making pizza dough from the Bread Bible book.  Should the dough come together when it is mixed and if it doesn’t should I add more water?
Also, after mixing the dough it needs to rest at room temperature for 1 hour.  It has gone past an hour.  At this point do I refrigerate or can I leave it at room temperature for how long it takes to double?
Thanks

Posted: 27 February 2008 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2568
Joined  2007-11-15

Here’s a link to the blog that you may find helpful:

http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/2006/02/pizza_praise.html

Signature 

Come visit my blog at

http://butteryum.blogspot.com

Posted: 27 February 2008 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1076
Joined  2007-11-15

You should just make sure most of the flour is moistened.  It will form a dough, but it will look pretty rough and not at all smooth.  You will probably have the strong urge to keep mixing it—don’t, because you will have problems later when you try to shape the pizza.  I always refrigerate it overnight, but I think there are instructions in the recipe if you decide not to refrigerate it.

Posted: 29 February 2008 04:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1419
Joined  2007-11-15

I measure by weight and have never encountered a problem when doing the pizza crust from the book.  What Matthew describes is correct.

The dough will seem a bit dry and crumbled.  After the overnight refrigerated rest, the dough will smooth out.