1 of 2
How do you price your cakes?
Posted: 28 February 2008 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2008-02-28

Hi, everyone—

I am a newbie here.  I’m an experienced home baker who got into cake decorating in 1991, when my baby sister insisted on my making her wedding cake, because she wanted a fresh, moist, delicious homemade cake instead of the often dry and tasteless bakery ones.

Since then, I’ve made many wedding and special occasion cakes as gifts to friends and family, but now I find people coming to me wanting to buy the cakes I make.  The school where I took cake decorating lessons tells me that, for a wedding cake, today’s bare minimum is $4 a serving (more for elaborate cakes).

How do you determine the prices to charge for the cakes you make?  Mine aren’t usually elaborately decorated, but I always use top-notch ingredients—the best chocolate, butter, etc.  How do you factor in the cost of ingredients, the number of servings, and so on?

Posted: 28 February 2008 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  2008-01-09

I have heard that the typical for desserts is to charge 3x your cost.  the problem is that with wedding cakes, there is a lot more work involved and 3x just doesn’t cover the labor.  I would call around your local business that make cakes, specialty ones as well as the ones that bake in larger volumes to get an idea of price ranges for both high quality custom cakes, high production bakeries (which are usually lower in quality since their main concern is quantity) and everything in between.  then decide on your price.  Don’t sell yourself short, you seem to know what your a doing and you have done it for many years, AND, their is a reason why people want to hire you, it’s not beacuase you cheap, but obviously because you make great cakes!!!

Posted: 28 February 2008 01:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-01-09