Buttercream vs. Decorator Frosting
Posted: 16 September 2010 08:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  29
Joined  2010-09-16

Hi!  I’m a brand new baker who is LOVING my Cake Bible.  After taking a Wilton decorating class, loving it, but being grossed out by the frosting, I discovered Rose’s book.  Now I’m not sure how to combine the two.  I made mocha espresso buttercream for her perfect chocolate cake…which was so good I could just eat the whole bowl with a spoon!  However, it was pretty soft.  I’m guessing this is not something I can use for piping flowers or decorations?  Do I use the gross frosting for decorations and this as the base?  I bought the Wilton teddy bear 3D cake pan for an upcoming baby shower and will need chocolate frosting.  I’d love Rose’s taste, but not sure how I can make “fur” out of it.  Also, I made the chocolate fondant and it didn’t quite work.  Tastes great, but whenever I would lift it up, it would crack into pieces.  Too dry?  I still have it…can this be salvaged? Thanks everyone who takes the time to read this or reply.  This has been quite a fun new thing for me.

Posted: 17 September 2010 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  32
Joined  2010-05-19

For some other ideas for pipeable frostings and a forum with lots of advice
and tried and true recipes for cake decorating go here:  http://www.cakecentral.com

This is a forum dedicated to decorated cakes for special occaissions

Posted: 17 September 2010 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3131
Joined  2010-04-25

Hi, Sarah!