Weighing Cocoa Powder
Posted: 30 September 2010 11:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-09-30

I’m a bit of a newbie to baking - so forgive this basic question….

I’ve always thought that weighing ingredients is better than measuring them with measuring cups and spoons.  This seems to work well for me with flour, sugar, etc.  But I noticed that the when I weigh cocoa powder the amount is always much more than the measure in the recipe.  So, tonight, for example, I made a Mississippi Mud Pie… the recipe called for 1/3 cup of cocoa powder - there are 16 teaspoons in a 1/3 cup and each teaspoon of cocoa powder weighs 5 grams - So I added 80 grams of cocoa powder.  The pie ended up coming out pretty dry and a bit too bitter for my taste.  I’m guessing it’s because I should have had much less cocoa powder.  Better to measure it next time?  Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

Posted: 01 October 2010 04:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1358
Joined  2008-09-27

Some cocoa powders contain more fat than others; perhaps yours was on the lean side, which might have contributed to the perceived dryness.  It also will affect the density of the cocoa powder, meaning that a given volume will weigh differently depending on its fat content, and perhaps due to other factors, too, such as grind size.

Personally, I find the convenience of weighing so compelling that I’d stick to that method, but just make weight adjustments for particular recipes.

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 01 October 2010 08:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4791
Joined  2008-04-16