1 of 2
Buttercream ribbon?
Posted: 25 October 2010 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2010-10-24

Hello! I am frying my brain trying to figure out how I am going to make a birthday “present” cake?
It is supposed to be a 1 tier, two layer square (probably 16”) in white and pink.
I have no experience in fondant so I am not sure if 1.5 weeks would be enough time for me to feel confident enough to use fondant…..sooooooo, I am thinking I will be using buttercream. Does any one know of tecniques in buttercream decorating to make “ribbons” and a “bow”? Do I just use a larger tip or is there another way?

Has anyone used real ribbons and bows? Which works better?
Thanks~

Posted: 26 October 2010 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  146
Joined  2010-03-30

Fondant is easy.  Use Rose’s recipe from The Cake Bible and give it a try.  I had success the very first time I used it.  It’s like play-doh for cakes.

EDIT: The decorations in my avatar are fondant cutouts: numbers and stars. I didn’t feel like making cookies, so I used and colored leftover fondant that I had on hand.  I have no idea if anyone ate them, but they worked perfectly.

Posted: 26 October 2010 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  23
Joined  2010-10-22

Hi!  My take on fondant is that if you can work with playdough, you can work with fondant—especially if you’re trying to do fairly large adornments like ribbons.  Making the fondant in the cuisinart is pretty straight forward, or you can purchase it pre-made at Michaels (although I’ve never actually tried the pre-made).  It is also fun to color the fondant, b/c you can do just about any color if you have brown or black on hand to darken it up, since the paste colors seem to come out brighter than you want them.  So I’ve used it to recreate logos and other special requests.  I’ve only done fondant 4-5 times so far (latest effort attached), but it is fun to work with.  My recommendations would be: