newbie question on sourdough
Posted: 16 December 2010 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2010-12-16

I just registered, and am in search of some good basic sourdough recipes.  I am not a novice at sourdough, use to do it all the time, but I am looking for new techniques and better results.  I have sworn off the no knead system for natural yeast and would love a reliable no knead sourdough recipe, but also am interested in anything that is widely regarded to be the best.  Thanks for any suggestions.

Posted: 16 December 2010 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1358
Joined  2008-09-27
bblackmore - 17 December 2010 12:39 AM

I just registered, and am in search of some good basic sourdough recipes.  I am not a novice at sourdough, use to do it all the time, but I am looking for new techniques and better results.  I have sworn off the no knead system for natural yeast and would love a reliable no knead sourdough recipe, but also am interested in anything that is widely regarded to be the best.  Thanks for any suggestions.

Nancy Silverton is one of the industry’s preeminent natural-yeast bakers and she has a book “Breads from the La Brea Bakery” which is highly regarded.  She only makes natural yeast bread.  Another recent book that has caused a stir is “Tartine Bread”, and the author goes into excruciating detail about he makes his unique, natural yeast bread.  Those who have followed the process say it’s wonderful, but demanding.

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 17 December 2010 09:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-12-16