help converting carrot cake recipe for wedding cake! time running out!
Posted: 18 December 2010 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2010-12-18

hi, all—a newbie here. love the site already!

cutting to the chase: i’m helping out my little sis last-minute and baking her wedding cake. i’m in d.c.; she’s in denver (so questions about transporting TK). right now, though, i need help translating her recipe into a three-tier three-inch-high layers cake. it will be 6-, 9- and 12-inch tiers each 3 inches deep. i have a fisher-paykel aero oven (convection-like). but i’m finding that the deeper layers, of course, bake differently. and i’ve been through my inherited copy of the cake bible—and i’m sure it’s my failing—but i’m not really able to translate the recalculations for butter or sponge cake into carrot when increasing a recipe to wedding-cake-size. this isn’t a sponge or a butter cake, technically. and of course it’s got a lot of liquid:
2 c flour/1 tsp each baking soda and powder/ 1/4 tsp salt/ 2 tsp cinnamon
3 eggs/ 2 tsp vanilla/ 1.5 c sugar/ 1/2 c brown sugar/ 1/4 c milk, then 1 c oil
2.5 c carrots/ 2 c shredded coconut/ 1 c crushed pineapple/ 1 c yellow raisins/ 1.5 c chopped pecans

for the first shot, i just quadrupled the recipe (which seemed to be enough for the 9- and 12-inch layers). no other adjustments. my 12-inch layer took quite a while to bake, and it seems the very center is a bit underdone.