1 of 2
Kind of Dumb Question from New Member/Novice Baker
Posted: 10 February 2011 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2011-02-10

Please bear with me as I ask somewhat of a dumb question.

I am a great home cook and have been saying for years that I want to delve into cake baking and decorating.  I have a deep passion for the culinary arts and greatly admire the beauty and technical expertise that many of the chefs these days are able to pull off with their creations.

So, for Christmas this past year, my wife surprised me with cake decorating supplies, Rose’s Cake Bible and Heavenly Cakes books, and she also enrolled me in a beginner’s cake decorating class. 

I am currently enrolled in the Wilton Beginner’s Decorating Class at my local Hobby Lobby.  My hopes for this course is that it will be a spring board for me into the world of cake decorating.  I am also hoping that this class will teach me the basic skills to have more professional looking decorated cake.  I have never baked a cake that wasn’t a premix boxed cake by Betty Crocker or Dunkin Hines.

This weekend will be my first time making a cake and icing from scratch and making it look somewhat proffesional!!  I am even tasked to color the icing!!  I will post pics this weekend of my finished product if it comes out fairly decent! (**fingers are crossed**)

Well, my dumb question of the day is that from my reseach on line I’ve read about people using crumb coats as a way to prevent crumbs from getting into your final icing, but I haven’t come across a site yet that gives detailed instructions of what is the proper way to apply a crumb coat.  (i.e. how much icing should be used)  I’ve also read that one should attempt not to allow the spatula to touch the cake.

Would someone please explain to me what is the proper way to apply a crumb coat?

Thanks in advance

Posted: 10 February 2011 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3127
Joined  2010-04-25