What is your showcase bread?
Posted: 24 February 2011 07:22 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-02-24

Hi everybody…
I am new to baking and decided to start with bread.  I am a very proud owner of all of Rose’s books and absolutely love all the technical aspects of baking.  The fact that Rose does as well and has shared all that she has learned hasn’t failed to encourage and inspire me to feel confident in learning this new skill set.

I am having a blast baking bread!

My questions for Rose, and anyone else that would like to share, are as follows:
Having a chance to show off for family and friends which loaf of bread would you use to showcase your bread baking talent?  Which loaf do you feel would best showcase flavor and/or the beauty of a fresh loaf of home baked bread?  Which recipe, from The Bread Bible, had garnered the most acclaim and exclamation from your family and friends?

Posted: 24 February 2011 08:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4781
Joined  2008-04-16

The biggest crowd pleaser so far has been the raisin-pecan bread, and Rose says this is her favorite as well.  Last time I made it I served it to a small group of volunteers with local creamy ricotta and honey, and they demolished the entire loaf. 

My personal favorite is her 100% freshly ground whole wheat bread from the blog, when served with cheese (hearty enough to be the main course at a light dinner or lunch): http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/2006/11/rose_levy_beranbaums_100_whole.html

Some general favorites in our family are the rosemary focaccia, the focaccia with herbs under the crust and semolina (forget the name), and the pugliese (cover bread).

Signature 

B&T Blog:  Cultured Butter Recipe

Posted: 24 February 2011 11:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1076
Joined  2007-11-15

From the Bread Bible, my list would have to include:

Cinnamon Crumb Surprise
Bagels
Popovers
Pumpernickel
Raisin Pecan Bread