Kneading time so much longer than the recipe calls for. Please help.
Posted: 05 March 2011 11:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2008-04-10

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to baking bread. I’ve been using a scale and measuring meticulously in grams. But every time I make one of Rose’s breads, the dough doesn’t come together in the time that the instructions says it should. I always find I have to add more flour. I use Gold Medal unbleached all-purpose just like the recipes call for, so I don’t understand. Should I decrease the liquid? Should I increase the flour? Should I just keep mixing and cross my fingers and hope that the dough will eventually come together? Please help.

Rod

Posted: 06 March 2011 12:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1352
Joined  2008-09-27
Roddy - 06 March 2011 03:12 AM

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to baking bread. I’ve been using a scale and measuring meticulously in grams. But every time I make one of Rose’s breads, the dough doesn’t come together in the time that the instructions says it should. I always find I have to add more flour. I use Gold Medal unbleached all-purpose just like the recipes call for, so I don’t understand. Should I decrease the liquid? Should I increase the flour? Should I just keep mixing and cross my fingers and hope that the dough will eventually come together? Please help.

Rod

Some more details would be helpful.  What recipes have you tried?  How much longer does it take you for the dough to come together?  What mixer do you have and what setting are you using?

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 06 March 2011 01:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-04-10