Mom’s Apple…Cheesecake?
Posted: 21 May 2011 04:07 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2011-05-21

Hi all,

I grew up enjoying my mom’s fabulous fruit pies (am I unique, or what?), and although she never showed me much, she did attempt to teach me how to make a flaky pie crust. Years after her death, I revisited the technique and, with the help of her recipe box, I was able to recreate her wonderful apple pie, albeit a little less elegantly. But that’s not really the topic of this post.

As an avid cheesecake baker, I thought one day that it would be great to combine her apple pie with my cheesecake - the two seem so well matched (apple pie and vanilla ice cream - hey, great idea). So I made my standard cheesecake crust (a mixture of cookie crumbs and pecans, although I substituted walnuts here, and melted butter), pressed it into a buttered and parchment-lined 6 x 3” pan and baked it for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I peeled and sliced a Granny Smith apple (my mom’s go-to apple), added some white sugar, a little flour and cinnamon and combined them thoroughly, then heated the mixture in a saucepan until it boiled and then let it simmer until the apples were soft. I then pulled it off and let it cool beside the already cooling crust.

Next, I made my standard vanilla cheesecake batter. When it was ready, I spooned some of the apple mixture onto the crust, enough to create a thin layer, then spooned the cheesecake batter over the apples. I baked the cake in a bain marie until done, then let it cool for a couple of hours before putting it in the refrigerator overnight.

The next day, I removed the cake from the pan and made some fresh whipped cream, which I then piped generously around the edge. Finally, I filled the center with the remaining apples. The cake was incredible, according to my friends. My quadruple bypass prevents me from eating it!

Mike

Image Attachments
Mom's Apple Cheesecake.jpg
 Signature 

http://www.honeyscheesecake.com