Sourdough Rye problem: tears while rising
Posted: 27 September 2011 04:19 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2011-09-27

I’ve been an avid bread baker for many years and this summer encountered a problem with my rye bread for the first time.  I’ve been using Rose’s Sourdough Rye recipe for years, always with great success.  Twice this summer I’ve had what I can only describe as “tearing” in the bread as it rises after shaping.  Perhaps it is the humidity? Or poor gluten formation? The dough was slightly more sticky than usual, despite precise weighing, which I compensated for by adding a spoonful of flour so that the consistency was right. Last week’s loaves were perfect, this week, I doubt I’ll be able to salvage them. I’ve attached a picture which shows the problem better than I can describe. It is so disheartening to see otherwise lovely dough stretch and break like this! 
Thanks so much for any insight anyone has!

-Janette

Image Attachments
2011-09-27 small.jpg

Posted: 03 October 2011 07:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4839
Joined  2008-04-16

Hi Janette,

I don’t have the magic answer, but I thought of your post this past weekend when I made pizza crust and I noticed after shaping a small place that looked just like your photo.  I baked it up anyway and it came out just fine, hardly noticeable.  How does yours bake up?

I feel like it may be related to gluten content, could it be a combination of strong shaping (really stretching the crust) with a lack of elasticity in the gluten?  Elasticity can be a function of the brand of bread flour- I like Gold Medal Better for Bread for its elasticity.

Or do you think the crust could have dried out a bit?

Acidity can also relax gluten, could the starter have undergone something to alter its acidity?

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  Peanut Butter Cups, All Grown Up

Posted: 03 October 2011 10:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2011-09-27

Hi Julie,