2 of 2
Cinnamon Buns Troubleshoot
Posted: 26 November 2012 12:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2012-03-07

Shelling - Sherrie, I am no expert except that I have made one batch of Sticky Buns a week for about 9 months now.  I am at work now, so I don’t have access to her “Bread Bible,” but I have a faint recollection from her “Sticky Bun” recipe, -that- it is a good idea to brush all the flour off the roll as you are rolling it. 

Rose’s Brioche dough recipe is so sticky that I find it necessary to thoroughly chill the dough down to 32 degrees before I roll it.  And still, I roll it on a thoroughly floured surface because it is so sticky. 

Than as I roll it, I very carefully brush the flour off the roll about every half turn. 

I brush the flour off the roll with a pastry brush so it will stick to itself while rising

I have my own troubles, I am still learning how to roll the brioche dough into a rectange instead of a circle for a perfect roll.  I am becoming expert at curving my rolling pin movements into each corner from the middle. 

Anybody know whether or not the Flexipan 1601 works or not?  I want to buy one, because Rose recommends it, but I don’t see how the sticky carmel will un-mold from the bottom.

I double the Carmamel Topping and very often I find that someone has scraped the caramel clean from under the edge of the next bun!

Posted: 26 July 2013 06:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  917
Joined  2009-05-25