1 of 2
Lighting Tips on Food Photography
Posted: 31 October 2011 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2009-05-26

With several people mentioning wanting to know more about food photography (see this post), I thought I start a topic.

I’m still learning food photography myself but I can share my set up. I always take photos during the day, with natural light. Natural light works best because it makes the food looks more natural. I know there are tutorials out there about creating a light box that you can use to take pictures at night. I’ve tried this and I still like natural light best.

Natural light here does not mean direct sunlight. This makes the food looks harsh. The best place to take picture would be by a south facing window - you’ll get all the light but not direct sunlight.

In my house, the south facing window is unfortunately in the bathroom. So that’s where I set up, grin . If you see the picture attached, I have 3 $1 foam core board, one I use as a base (and yes on top of a clothes drying rack). The other two foam board are on each side of the pie - and they serve to bounce the light back onto the pie.

You don’t have to use the foam core boards, if you have other flat surface that you can use as a base. For bouncing the light, white surface works best because it also helps to make the picture looks brighter.

I hope this helps some of you who are asking about food photography. It is really easy and inexpensive to improve your pictures. You can get all fancy and buy different plates and silverware if you want but you don’t have to. Most of the time I use whatever I have at home and it works just great.

@ Fellow moderators: I’m not sure where to post this topic, so I put it in show & tell as it feels like a show and tell smile. Please feel free to move this if you think it fits elsewhere.

Image Attachments
Photo set up.jpg
 Signature 

http://www.knittybaker.blogspot.com/