Cast-iron dishes- a must or a luxury
Posted: 14 November 2011 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-11-14

Hi,

I’m relatively new to baking, and am currently discussing equipment options with a friend. My friend is adamant that cast-iron dishes such as those made by Le Creuset are the best and a must for serious bakers.
Money isn’t really the problem for me, but I am curious what other more experienced think about this.
Are cast-iron pots a must for baking or a luxury?

smile

Posted: 14 November 2011 02:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  880
Joined  2009-05-25

Welcome!  What are you baking?  Most cakes, for example do just fine with a high quality aluminum pan (Magic Line)—which is still relatively inexpensive compared to Le Creuset.  I don’t own any Le Creuset products, but actually think they may be more useful for savory cooking rather than baking (braised dishes).  There are several people on the site who make do with minimal equipment and produce excellent results.  I would argue an oven thermometer, digital thermometer, digital scale, and some mixing device (stand mixer or even good hand mixer) would be more useful for baking.  In many cases, I think an enameled cast iron pan (like Le Creuset) would be detrimental for baking a cake since it would take so long to heat up compared to an aluminum pan. 

If you are new to baking, I can’t recommend Rose’s books enough.  She has equipment recommendations (some expensive/some not—good quality, yes!) and her recipes are well developed so even beginner bakers can have excellent results if you follow directions well smile Do not be intimidated by her lengthly recipes.  They include crucial details that enable you to produce fabulous baked goods.  Good luck on your baking adventures!

Posted: 14 November 2011 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4741
Joined  2008-04-16