1 of 2
I need a recipe for a velvety close textured vanilla cake - any helpers?
Posted: 22 May 2008 07:03 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2008-05-14

I am trying to find a recipe for a velvety close textured vanilla cake suitable for cupcakes. Not crumbly or too buttery. Any ideas?, I have searched and searched the net but have only found it to be similar to Madeira cake, but not the same.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Posted: 22 May 2008 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4839
Joined  2008-04-16

I’m no expert, but the crumb really doesn’t look like a butter cake to me.  It almost looks like a yellow angel food cake.  Maybe try something with stiffly beaten whites folded in, like TCB’s White Genoise or Biscuit de Savoie.  Rose describes the White Genoise as a cross between and angel food cake and a classic genoise.

Good luck, please report back when you find something!
Julie

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  Peanut Butter Cups, All Grown Up

Posted: 22 May 2008 11:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4839
Joined  2008-04-16

Oops, sorry, the biscuit I mentioned in the previous post wouldn’t work well for cupcakes because it requires syrup, but the white genoise might.

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  Peanut Butter Cups, All Grown Up

Posted: 22 May 2008 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1077
Joined  2007-11-15

One way to get a very fine texture is to use cake flour and ultra-fine sugar.  It is hard to tell from the picture, but it almost looks like a white cake—made with only egg whites, but there is a slight off-white quality to it, so maybe it uses whole eggs.

Posted: 22 May 2008 05:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  500
Joined  2007-11-24

I was thinking a white butter cake as well.