1 of 2
Lemon Poppyseeds
Posted: 23 November 2011 11:02 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2011-11-23

I have made Rose’s Lemon Poppyseeds from “Rose’s Christmas Cookies” and instead of staying in a ball, they’ve spread out.  All the measurements are correct, as is the oven temperature. Any idea why this is happening? I am not a novice cookie maker and I have never had a trusted recipe not ‘work’.  Was there a typo? Have I somehow done something? I am at a loss to explain why this has happened.  I have even double checked my measurements and made sure the oven is reading temps correctly.  Ideas, anyone?

Posted: 23 November 2011 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2011-11-23

Since no one has responded yet, I will go ahead and post the ingredients and that will perhaps help with the responses.

(ingredients edited out)

I want these to work, so please bring on the advice as to what the problem is with this recipe.  Again, it is from “Rose’s Christmas Cookies” cookbook.

Posted: 23 November 2011 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2011-11-23

Well, in hopes of someone getting on here (ideally Rose herself since the recipe is one of hers) and clarifying what the issue might be, I have decided to make the entire recipe a second time.  These are becoming very expensive cookies!!!

Posted: 23 November 2011 04:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3132
Joined  2010-04-25

Hi, Stacia!

Welcome!  Sorry you haven’t gotten more responses—no doubt everyone’s rushing around for the holidays!!!  I know there are several members who have baked a good deal from this book, and lemon poppysed is such a yummy combination, someone’s probably made these!

I haven’t made these before, but could it be the temperature of your butter?  I think the softer the butter is, the more likely they are to spread.  Also, if you don’t completely cool your baking sheets before using them for another batch, cookies can spread.