capachino request
Posted: 28 December 2011 07:04 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2011-10-24

I am a newbie at this forum but have been using rose"s cookbooks for years.  I recently made a half sheet cake of chocolate cake from rhc with silk meringue praline butter cream, covered with the choclate glaze from rhs. decorated with edible glitter and gum paste flowers. it was such a hit that i was asked to produce another masterpiece . The flavoring that was requested was cappuccino or anything coffee.  I cannot make it with nuts or any creams that incorporate cheese. Any ideas?

Posted: 29 December 2011 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4783
Joined  2008-04-16

I love the RHC tiramisu- not exactly cappucino, but is creamy and has plenty of coffee flavor.  However, it does have marscapone, which is similar to cream cheese.

If you can get away with mocha, the light whipped mocha ganache from RHC is to die for- you could pair it with the chocolate chiffon (deep chocolate passion) and syrup the cake with coffee, sugar and milk instead of chocolate and milk.  Both the cake base and the syrup can be scaled down from the Deep Chocolate Passion wedding cake in the back of RHC.

Signature 

B&T Blog:  Cultured Butter Recipe

Posted: 29 December 2011 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2011-10-15

Hi Hoosy,

Rose offers assorted coffee-flavoured variations of silk meringue and classic buttercream in TCB which can also be applied to the mousseline. For a cappuccino flavour, you could reduce the coffee flavouring, increase the vanilla and perhaps add a pinch of either cinnamon or cocoa.