Recommendations for which recipe to start with???
Posted: 13 January 2012 07:00 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  106
Joined  2011-09-03

I received The Bread Bible for Christmas and I’m eager to bake yeast breads from it. When it comes to bread, I’m not a complete newbie, but it isn’t something I’ve done a lot, especially in recent years. I occasionally bake Ukranian Babka and basic sandwich loaves.  I’ll admit to being a little intimidated (while excited and ready to try) baking with starters and learning Rose’s bread techniques. I look forward to learning to turn out beautiful artisan breads like I’ve seen here on the forum.

So, do you wonderful bread bakers have suggestions for which recipe to start with? I’ve found “Better for Bread” flour in Hong Kong so I think I’m ready LOL 

Thanks in advance!

Posted: 13 January 2012 07:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4804
Joined  2008-04-16

The pizza is wonderful for when you want something simple and foolproof.  And you can experiment with room temp vs. refrigerated rising to see which flavor profile you prefer.  Even though I am trying to expand my bread skills right now, I love “coasting” now and then and going back to this recipe.

Better for Bread flour is lovely, so extensible.  How about using it in the raisin-pecan loaf or the hearth bread?  Hearth bread is nice for teaching all the methods talked about in the first part of the book, and raisin pecan loaf is full-flavored and a crowd pleaser. 

I also love the loaf pictured on the cover, pugliese, but it does call for finely ground durum flour so that may be a good one for when you come across specialty ingredients. 

The sticky buns are truly wonderful!  smile

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  Greek-style yogurt recipe

Posted: 14 January 2012 12:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2011-09-03

Thanks Julie! You can tell you really have a passion for bread smile