Star Wars Cake
Posted: 14 January 2012 01:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2011-05-31

Hi everyone!
I have undertaken the task of baking a Star Wars themed cake for my husband’s 35th birthday- one week from today! I have attached picture of the cake I want to bake. The picture is of a poster showing an actual cake made to celebrate the one year anniversary of the movie back in 1978.

I was thinking to make a 12 inch layer cake, and a 9 inch. Cover them both in buttercream frosting (white and blue). The hard part - and the part I am stuck on- is the Star Wars logo. Should I do a frozen buttercream transfer of the logo? I have never done this before… Any ideas/tips/suggestions from bakers who are more experienced than I am? Thank you!

http://www.moviepostercollectors.com/MPC_Authentication_Star_Wars_Birthday_Cake_files/Star Wars Birthday Cake folded.jpg

Posted: 18 January 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  84
Joined  2011-06-06

That cake looks like fun!

It looks like the top layer is just a frosted one-layer cake.

There are LOTS of different ways you could do this cake…. You could use a printed icing transfer sheet, you could ice the letters by hand, or you could use a stencil to paint the letters on.  It just depends on what you have at hand, and what you think your skill level is.  The printed icing sheet will be the easiest and cleanest.  Call your local grocery store to see if they’ll print it out for you.  Some places are very strict on trademarked logos, so you may have to find one that’s licensed.  I think 9x11 is the biggest size they offer though. Then you can cut it to size, and just pipe some little decorations on the outer edges.