Star Wars Cake
Posted: 14 January 2012 01:59 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2011-05-31

Hi everyone!
I have undertaken the task of baking a Star Wars themed cake for my husband?s 35th birthday- one week from today! I have attached picture of the cake I want to bake. The picture is of a poster showing an actual cake made to celebrate the one year anniversary of the movie back in 1978.

I was thinking to make a 12 inch layer cake, and a 9 inch. Cover them both in buttercream frosting (white and blue). The hard part - and the part I am stuck on- is the Star Wars logo. Should I do a frozen buttercream transfer of the logo? I have never done this before? Any ideas/tips/suggestions from bakers who are more experienced than I am? Thank you!

http://www.moviepostercollectors.com/MPC_Authentication_Star_Wars_Birthday_Cake_files/Star Wars Birthday Cake folded.jpg

Image Attachments
swhappydec06.jpg

Posted: 14 January 2012 10:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  610
Joined  2007-11-27

The buttercream transfer will work, as would cutting the letters out of blue fondant (print out the letters using the appropriate font, or trace them/cut out), then roll out blue fondant and using an exacto blade, carefully cut each letter.  Smooth out the cut edges if needed - if you drag the blade it can leave a raggedy edge - with the other end of a small paintbrush or the flat edge of a modeling tool, and let them dry on a piece of cardboard very lightly dusted with cornstarch and covered with plastic wrap. You can also use colored chocolate in the same way as the buttercream transfer, just remember to flood the entire image with white chocolate when you finish, to make it more sturdy when you flip it over.

Either way, measure the logo before you begin so you know it will fit on the 9” cake.

Good luck!  What a fun way to celebrate your husband’s birthday!

Signature