Yoda
Posted: 23 January 2012 09:55 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  939
Joined  2009-09-16

Hello everyone!

I haven’t been around the boards for the last while and I haven’t really been baking a whole lot lately.  I have had some big changes at work and it has kept me busy. 

I did manage to make a birthday cake for a co-workers grandson this weekend.  He wanted a cake with Yoda ( from star wars on it )  This is the first time I have ever sculpted anything and the birthday boy was very excited when he saw the cake.  I actually got a huge hug from him.

The cake itself is the white velvet butter cake with choibust cream filling and white chocolate mousseline buttercream.  I tempered dark chocolate to make chocolate shards to put around the cake.  Yoda is sculpted from rice krispies and fondant.

Although I am no artist,  I think he kind of looks like Yoda.  At least the birthday boy knew who he was. LOL

Image Attachments
yoda 2.jpgyoda.jpg

Posted: 23 January 2012 10:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4838
Joined  2008-04-16

That looks great! smile I agree, it does look like Yoda, and the cake and filling sound wonderful, a perfectly delicious vanilla cake.

So happy to see you back here and baking, too.

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  Peanut Butter Cups, All Grown Up

Posted: 23 January 2012 10:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-09-16

Thanks Julie.  I hope to be baking a bit more now that things have settled down at work.  Yoda was alot of fun but I think his head is a bit big for his body.  Rose’s recipes are so wonderful because they are not too sweet.  There were three diabetics at the party and they loved that all the components of the cake were not overly sweet.

Posted: 23 January 2012 11:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3171
Joined  2010-04-25