Problems with Red Velvet Cake
Posted: 09 February 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2012-02-09

I have been baking Red Velvet Cake since 1969.  Recently, we got a new “state-of-the-art” oven.  The first thing I tried to cook was my Red Velvet Cake.  They cooked around the outer edge, but were gooey and sticky in the middle.  The whole cake rose in the process of cooking, but at a point, the center fell.  I was watching through the door; I did not open the oven.  We had service people check the oven and basically they told us that nothing was wrong with the oven; the problem is with the cook or the recipe according to them.  I can go to a friends house and bake this cake using the same recipe and it turns out fine, but it will not give me satisfactory results in this “state-of-the-art” oven.  The oven has convection and thermal but I get the same results no matter which selection I make.  Does anyone have any suggestions or options that I might try?  I’m desperate and willing to try most anything.

Posted: 09 February 2012 02:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1357
Joined  2008-09-27

Sounds like a classic case of too hot of an oven.  Buy an independent thermometer to double check it, but you might try turning down the temperature 25 degrees or so.

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 09 February 2012 03:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-02-09

I agree.  That’s what I thought too, but I have lowered the temperature 25 degrees and still get the same poor results.  I also thought perhaps it could be my pans so I’ve tried several different types of pans and still no better results.  The last service person here checked the temperature and it was correct.  I also have tested it with my own thermometer and it seems to be true.

Posted: 09 February 2012 03:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank