Newbie needs advice on traveling w/ buttercream
Posted: 30 March 2012 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2012-03-30

Hi there!  Is it ok to freeze a wedding cake AFTER it has been torted?  I am making a cake for a 3pm wedding on Sat.  We have to leave Friday afternoon and travel for 3 hours to be there for Friday night. I would like to have as much of the cake done as possible ahead of time.  I wanted to use Polaner all fruit w/ jello mixed in with it for one of the layers, cream cheese frosting for one, and a boston cream filling for the choc. Has anyone ever tried freezing the torted layers.  I’m also concerned about the fruit “seeping” into the cake…is there some way of preventing that?  I thought of a thin layer of b/c since i’ll be making a damn anyway…Also, sorry for the novel!...Does anyone have any advice at all on decorating with pearls and b/c? I have never used them before.  Ideally I would like to have the cakes completely done, and travel with them that way. Do you think the fillings will be ok for 24 hours? (It will be refrigerated after 3 hours)  I use masonite as my base and platic dowels and I have a “cake spotter” riding along. I think the pearls will be an easy decoration to travel with, but am concerned about the fillings.  Should I go with just frosting instead.  I am a perfectionist, and this is my so-to-be-stepdaughters wedding.  Needless to say, I want it to be perfect! grin

Posted: 30 March 2012 11:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-03-30

soon-to-be ( i need to proof-read)

Posted: 30 March 2012 04:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3166
Joined  2010-04-25

Hi, Cake60!

Welcome!