1 of 2
Adjusting ingredients for pan size
Posted: 11 June 2008 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2008-06-11

I was delighted to receive The Cake Bible recently, especially after seeing so many positive comments/reviews on this site and Amazon. In looking through the recipes, they all look so fabulous that I couldn’t decide which one to make first. However, when I looked at some closely, I saw the notation about adjusting the ingredients to fit 2” cake pans if you want two layers; otherwise make one layer with cupcakes. So in order to get a 2 layer cake I need to figure out how much is one and one-third of 4-1/2 large egg whites, 1 cup + 3 T. sugar, and 1 T. and 1-1/2 t. baking powder, for example? I’m an experienced baker, but that’s just plain crazy. I can’t fathom that this book was revised not too long ago and the recipe ingredients weren’t recalculated so they would work with 2” pans, which is all that is available now. Or is it really not necessary to adjust the recipe (meaning make it as written, but using two 2” high pans) unless one is a total purist? I’d appreciate any feedback on the subject!

Posted: 11 June 2008 06:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  535
Joined  2008-05-03

Hi Emdh,

Welcome to the wonderful world of the Cake Bible and all the treasures that lie therein!  I think you’ll find that the best way to deal with your question is to weigh your ingredients.  A scale is not too expensive and you can use ounces or grams but using grams is the most accurate.  Then scaling will never be a problem again.  It also works ‘backwards’ in that you can adjust some recipes (generally not cakes) to use up the amount of ingredient you have.  For example, I made Passion Fruit Curd the other day and had 16 passion fruit.  I weighed the puree and then scaled all the other ingredients to get the correct proportions.  If you need more exact examples or more detail, I’d be happy to help.