Whole Grain Bread/Struan
Posted: 01 May 2012 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-02-11

Hello!  I am very new to the science/art of baking bread!  I has been a lot of fun and even after a very short time - we are becoming spoiled by homemade bread.  The Bread Bible has become a great “go-to” resource and there are many recipes I’ve marked to try!

I have a couple questions re: whole grain breads…....

I have practicing with Peter Reinhart’s Multi-Grain Extraordinare.  The first time, flavor was good but the loaf was not pretty.  Second time, flavor was better - but the loaf completely fell.  The third try resulted in a very pretty loaf that was dry and crumbly.  Not sure what happened with the first loaf - but I was happy.  I think my problem with #2 was that the second rise got away from me (it was basically over-flowing from the pan when it went into the oven).  I am stumped on what I might have done on #3 (I “MIGHT” - LOL -have put in only 1 tsp yeast instead of the 1TBSP listed - could that be the cause?).  Any suggestions?

I would like to try Rose’s Struan Bread but am not ready to get into Sourdough Starter….  any suggestions on an alternate approach?

Thanks for your help….

JD

Posted: 02 May 2012 12:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4789
Joined  2008-04-16

Sounds like you are spot on with loaf no. 3 when you suspected overproofing.  The dry crumbly loaf I’m not sure about- overbaking, or too little water?  Perhaps other members have ideas as well.

Not sure about the right sort of substitution of commercial yeast for sourdough, but Rose has a lovely 100% whole wheat walnut bread on her blog.  It’s here:  http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/2006/11/rose_levy_beranbaums_100_whole.html

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  How to Make Sourdough More (or Less) Sour

Posted: 02 May 2012 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  632
Joined  2008-01-24